In 1998, L’Oréal and UNESCO initiated FOR WOMEN IN SCIENCE, an international programme to recognise, encourage and promote women in science. It is inspired by two main goals: to honour established women researchers in all fields of Science, and to help young women researchers with promising research projects. 
The programme consists of three levels; the L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards, awarded to five leading women researchers, one per continent, who are identified as role models; the L’Oréal-UNESCO International Fellowships, awarded to 14 young doctorate or post doctorate women to encourage international scientific cooperation and the development of cross-cultural networks; and lastly, the L’Oréal National and Regional Fellowships which anchor the For Women in Science programme in countries around the world. 
The L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science partnership started a new and exciting chapter in 2010 with the introduction of the For Women in Science Regional Fellowships in Sub-Saharan Africa and in Arab States. 
This new chapter is an extension of the National Fellowship programmes, which now exist in 47 countries where the presence of a L'Oréal subsidiary assures the management and promotion of the programme. The objective of the new Regional Fellowship is to bring our support to young women pursuing scientific careers in dozens of other countries throughout the world. 
The programme is organised in partnership with the L'Oréal Foundation, UNESCO Regional Bureau for Science in Africa, the African Network of Scientific Institutions (ANSTI), and L'Oréal Sub-Saharan Africa. 
One of the goals of the initiative is to promote and support scientific vocations among young women. The L'Oréal Foundation and UNESCO give 14 women the opportunity to win the fellowships in Sub-Saharan Africa. 
To learn more visit: 
or visit our FaceBook page: